Home » Shopping » A Successful Quest !

A Successful Quest !

In direct contrast to Saturdays venture to buy the train tickets for our upcoming journey to visit my eldest son and his family, see  A Wasted Day… again! or the quest for the rail tickets. today was very successful despite the fact that I have returned home with rather more than I bargained for!  I didn’t hold out much hope of everything running smoothly though as we really did seem to have a lot of ‘must do’s’ and ‘have to’s’ incorporated into today’s outing but everything went according to plan!

Firstly we walked down to the doctors to leave a repeat prescription for my tablets, then we ventured into the Post Office where I returned a parcel via special delivery to Play.com, who had sent me two copies of ‘The Spiderwick Chronicles’ by mistake, and they have promised to reimburse me for the cost of the return.

Our station platform Then a swift walk to the station as we didn’t have much time before the Leeds train was due, which incidentally was accompanied by lots of grumbling and muttering under her breath from K as we went. (she hates when we have to walk fairly fast, keeps saying her legs are too short)  We arrived at the station just in time to catch the train to Leeds.  Arriving  at our destination, we then proceeded through the ticket stalls to the Travel Centre, joining the queue to book and pay for our tickets.   As it came to our turn, two of the staff promptly closed their positions! (Obviously they had heard all about us!) but we were soon attended to by another member of staff who was obviously of much stronger constitution than her male colleagues!  

I had taken a printout of the Leeds/Carlisle/Glasgow route with me to show whoever was dealing with us (see, on the ball for once today with brain functioning at near full capacity!) but the girl informed me that although she could book that route if I insisted,  it was much slower and in addition, if we missed our connection in Carlisle we would have ages to wait for the next one as they were fairly infrequent.  So I accepted her superior knowledge on the subject and  we are now going via York both on the journey up and the one coming back.  The total cost came to £70.00 which isn’t too bad in my opinion.  Also our seats are reserved on all trains both outbound and return which then guarantees us a seat.

Leeds station from the train. By this time it was about 12.00 or thereabouts and we decided return via Huddersfield and have another search for a larger crossover style bag for me in Marks and Sparks.  A quick lunch in MickyD’s (I  must remember to take out some shares in McDonalds as K and I seem to be spending quite a fair amount of time in there lately!)  I had my usual Grilled Chicken Caesar Salad and a tea, and K had a Chicken Legend with potato wedges instead of chips accompanied by her usual Still Fanta Orange with no ice. 

Then onward to Marks and Spencer’s to have a look at their crossover bags.  They were very nice but a trifle too small for my liking, nor did they have a lot of separate compartments inside either ( a big plus with me) so we decided to take a look in British Home Stores.  It was here that I found a fairly roomy crossover bag which was just up my street, and also obtained a new addition to our family!   When we went to the desk to pay for the bag, the assistant informed me that I could have one of the cuddly toys that were randomly scattered all around the store for a special price, as I had spent over £10.00, so meet teddy!   He has his own passport (no good ending up living with us two then as we have never been abroad and have no intentions of going anytime in the near future thereby rendering his passport obsolete!)

Can you see his passport? I can’t think of a name for him at the moment, K suggested ‘Spike’ because his hair is stuck up according to her.  Oh, and she won’t want him, she doesn’t like cuddly toys full stop!  I have ended up with the tiger that I bought for her because every time I went into her bedroom, he had been thrown onto the floor and I felt so sorry for him that he now resides on my bed.  So, a new addition to our already overcrowded flat!  He is cute though, they all had different coloured scarves on and I preferred the cream coloured one.  Mind you I have to confess that once outside the shop, he ended up being stuffed roughly into K’s backpack with K and myself looking round furtively just to make sure we wouldn’t be accosted by the ‘Cruelty to Teddy Bears’ association.

Then back home on the bus, a couple of hours to catch our breaths, then into track suits and off out again to our exercise class.  K had forgotten most of the exercises and ended up the session by making everyone laugh as she sang to to the music using a weight in her hand as a pretend microphone.  So after a tiring but fruitful day I am just enjoying a nice hot cuppa that K has made for me whilst finishing off this blog.  A most successful quest all in all,  with much accomplished I think.

So that’s all for now, keep blogging and reading!  TG  smile_yawn

Windows Live Tags: “Leeds, “tickets, “station, “trains, “McDonalds, “teddy, “passport

One thought on “A Successful Quest !

  1. Ooohhh… I love Spike. I adore cuddly toys… I have loads of them floating around the place. However, most of them belong to the dogs!
     
    My favourite one is a large Border Collie with her puppy attached. Very realistic. They live on my bed when I’m not in it! When I’ve been in hospital, Dearly Beloved brings them up for me and they sit at the end of the bed. Several nurses have jumped when they first noticed her as she looks so realistic from a distance.

Now have your say!

