Home » Health and wellness » I’m suddenly in great demand! I wonder Why?

I’m suddenly in great demand! I wonder Why?

I have recently received yet another invite to take part in another medical trial, this time in Leeds. This second one is being organized by UK Biobank on behalf of the NHS. It does seem to be a similar thing as the one I am attending at Huddersfield Royal Infirmary. I have to take my medical details with me including a completed questionnaire about my medical history, such as any major operations, family history, how much I weighed when I was born, was I breastfed,etc etc.

Huddersfield Royal Infirmary
Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

I also have to take my current medication along with me of course, and it states that it will take roughly 90 minutes in the assessment centre.  I will have some tests done such as blood and urine samples taken as well as my heart checked and my weight and height etc will be measured. With this particular medical trial if I am deemed suitable, my health will then be monitored from now until I suppose I leave this mortal coil.

Of course I intend to go, but it has puzzled me somewhat. Why am I suddenly in such great demand for all these medical trials?  What is it about me now that warrants this sudden interest in my health and well being with such close scrutiny and monitoring?  When I asked my GP about the first trial, the one involving testing a new treatment for lowering cholesterol in post heart attack patients, she confessed that she hadn’t actually put my name forward, nor were GP’s ever consulted as to which of their patients were suitable for trials such as this, but they were obviously kept informed if a patient had been contacted and chosen for a particular trial.

Leeds Assessment Centre
Leeds Assessment Centre

So I have had to come to the conclusion that the reason why I am suddenly in such demand must be because of my heart attack. Its the only possible explanation that I can come up with! After all, no one was the slightest bit interested in me or my medical history pre-heart attack! I had never been invited to take part in anything let alone a clinical trial or a major medical research project. Makes me feel quite important actually, and pleased that at last I can make some sort of contribution to society before I exit it stage left. (or right as he above dictates.)

The UK Biobank venue is quite easy to get to as the building itself is just a short walk from where K and I disembark from the bus whenever we go to see her dentist at the Dental Hospital in Leeds. Its also positioned fairly close to the Train station, so we could catch a train to get there. I shall probably decide the method of transport to use in order to reach my destination nearer the time. I still haven’t got around to doing a ‘dummy run’ to the hospital at Huddersfield either, but as K will be in respite when I attend that appointment then I shall either be going alone or with my youngest son if he happens to be available on that day.

So, in demand at last! It’s taken all of 64 years, but as I always say, better late than never!

TG Open-mouthed

 

 

6 thoughts on “I’m suddenly in great demand! I wonder Why?

  1. You’re that unique and special person-‘Technogran’!! Being in demand goes with the territory and it’s sooooooooooooo good to be wanted!Hope all goes well 🙂

Now have your say!

