Home » K my daughter » Taking K through her entrance procedure…

Taking K through her entrance procedure…

On  Friday, K and I set off to refresh her memory about where the entrance to ‘Full body and a Voice’ actually is situated, as it is rather a complicated entrance to find if you aren’t totally familiar with the place, and as it was quite a few weeks ago that we actually used it, I felt it warranted a return visit.

Coming down the cat steps It was a beautiful sunny morning, quite ‘springlike’ in fact.  We went down the ‘cat steps’ to catch the bus to Huddersfield and we didn’t have long to wait for one.  Which brings me to the question  have you ever noticed how if the weather is fine, then your only stood at the bus stop for a few minutes before one arrives, but if its horrible, raining, cold etc, you’ve probably just missed one and therefore have half an hour to wait?  Or is that  another  one  of Technogran’s laws?

Anyway, I digress.  On arrival in Huddersfield, I took some pictures of the Church then we continued on to the Laurence Batley Theatre where we ran through exactly where K needs to go, which door, the procedure to employ if the door is locked, (there is an intercom system employed for entrance and you have to push the button for someone to release the door and let you in) next we went over how many flight of steps she needs to climb in order to reach the company. (all the way to the top actually, so quite a climb!  Boy, is she going to lose some weight!  LOL)   Well actually there is a lift, but being the kind thoughtful and caring  Mum that I am, I didn’t point this out to her because she will then use this all the time, and let’s face it all that stair climbing will help to keep her fit!

K catches her breath climbing the stairs

(Don’t worry dear readers, K is no fool!  She will have already noted the lift and no doubt will  be hoping that I didn’t notice it.  And she was probably silently saying to herself as we puffed up the steps “ Ha!  Monday I am using that lift!  There is no way am I climbing all these steps!   Who does my Mum think I am? “ or words to that effect.)

Anyway, on eventually arriving at the studio, we had a quick look around.  There was no staff present and the door to the offices was locked, so K  just did a practice at ‘limbering up’ at the bar ready for any ballet that she might be requested to perform, then we reconnoitred the toilets and their position (next floor down to the studio) in relation to where she would be based.

SNC11296 Posters on the stairs

Following that we made our exit down the stairs and outside, where we had a quick chat to Vanessa who was sat outside at one of the Cafe tables having a smoke.  She is one of the acting company’s tutors at ‘Full Body and the Voice.’  By the time  we finished our chat and said our goodbye’s and ‘See you on Mondays’ it was lunch time, so we decided to have a change of venue and went into Burger King for our lunch. Then we made our way up to the bus station and returned home.

Laurence Batley Theatre stitch

I am now feeling confident that K knows her way into the building and whereabouts to go on her first day there. The taxi firm have also put my mind at rest regarding the procedure in the afternoon should she be late exiting the building, and assured me that they would never leave without  her.  Now I know what you’re all thinking,  ‘Is this woman paranoid or what?’ but we have had this happen in the past when K was attending H college many years ago,  and she was actually left by the taxi firm on more than one occasion!  The horror and helplessness I felt on those occasions has never left me, it was a nightmare to be rung up by the College staff and be told that my Down’s Syndrome daughter was still stood outside at 14.30 pm at night in the dark, and I was miles away with no way to get to her! On the phone

So, I have now been put at my ease. She is nervous about the trial week, but I am quietly confident that she will be attending for the next two years. At least, I hope so!

TG  Open-mouthed

5 thoughts on “Taking K through her entrance procedure…

  1. I understand your concern about making sure K knows how to get in and where to go. I do hope the Taxi service is as reliable and dependable as they have promiced to be.Good luck to K… Get in there girl and show them your talent. (Use the lift to save energy)!

  2. I’m afraid that I do tend to err on the pessimist side of things where K is concerned. I wish I could be different but I am getting a bit long in the tooth now to be able to change.

  3. Regarding buses….no it’s not just ‘another one of technograns laws!!’ It’s painfully true!Another set of stairs to climb….you’re sure getting your fitness regime underway with a vengance!!Best of luck to K, hope her trial week goes well it would be great for her if she gets to attend for the next two years.

Now have your say!

