Home » Travel » Back up to Scotland……..A wet visit to Loch Long

Back up to Scotland……..A wet visit to Loch Long

 

Long Loch,Scotland
Long Loch,Scotland

On the Sunday after our breakfast, my son informed me that he was taking me to see a Loch which surpassed any views that we had seen so far.

Wait Mum until you see the scenery and views, its spectacular!” so we all piled into the car for the journey there. Again it was quite a drive, and reminded me very much of the drive we made last year when we went to Stirling Castle. Mountains and moors, the long and winding road but unfortunately the rain began to come down, and by the time that we reached Loch Long it was absolutely pelting down!

I took a few photographs by winding down the window of the car which wasn’t ideal and it really spoiled the visit somewhat. I was treating everyone (including C’s mum who we therefore needed to collect) to a meal at the Stonefield (some of you will no doubt remember me raving about this place on our last visit because we had a carvery meal where you could have as much as you wanted for just £3.50 or thereabouts)  As it was a Sunday the carvery was actually more expensive this time at about £6.50 per person, but still good value in my eyes.

Taken from the car window in the rain!

A quick consultation and it was decided by my son and C that we would make our way to the Lomond Shores retail park at Ben  Lomond way where at least if it was still raining there was plenty to do and see, so we then set off to drive there. Funnily enough, by the time we reached it the rain had stopped and the sun  was shining! After parking the car, we all went to admire the view across the Loch and also spot all the fish swimming there.  Then I sauntered  over to a shoe and bag shop which was handily placed just behind where we were standing.  They had some lovely sandals outside in the sale and despite the fact that the size was stated to be only a 4, I could tell they would fit me. They had been reduced from nearly £40.00d to £19.99d. I tried them on and they fit me perfectly so I bought them as my other summer sandals are now on their last legs and have acquired some large holes in the soles.

Nearby were some trampolines with some ‘bungee jumping’ from them, so the grandchildren both went on there and we had a sit down and rest whilst we watched them. It became quite warm as the sun shone, and  I  had now seen first hand just how changeable  the weather can be around those parts of Scotland where my son and his family live. Soon it was time to leave so that we could go and collect C’s Mum and then journey to the Stonefield for our dinner.

By the time we reached the Stonefield and chose our meals, it was so warm that we all decided to sit outside at one of the tables to eat it. I had turkey for my dinner with lots of  vegetables and some new potatoes. It was delicious!  That was all washed down with some White Zinfandel wine which has now become a firm favourite with me.  We all really enjoyed it. The children finished off with some ‘sticky toffee pudding’ which they love from there. Then we all returned to C and C’s and ended up sat out in the garden drinking some more wine.  We did hear some thunder whilst we were sat out and it did keep trying to ‘spit’ a little but thankfully we didn’t suffer another downpour. To say that before I had arrived up there it has said it would rain for the duration of my visit, I think we did pretty well weather wise!

It was a lovely day, only spoiled by the rain that we encountered over at Long Loch.  I shall have to keep my fingers crossed that if we ever return there in the future it stays brighter next time .

TG  smile_teeth

4 thoughts on “Back up to Scotland……..A wet visit to Loch Long

  1. Fun day despite the rain! You sure you didn’t go bungee jumping?!! lol…..good way to catch the views…and to show off your new sandals! After all…these shops don’t appear just where you happen to be for no reason! lol. The photo of the Loch is lovely, not had many encounters with Scotland but it looks great there. I do know Carvery meals are totally wonderful tho! The hi-lit of my visits home to see the family….rare occurence in itself and a cause for carvery-style celebrations! Then again….any excuse will do! And what better than the threat of a Loch’s-worth of rain in the heart of Scotland!! ;))

  2. Its so changable up there though because of the highlands. We ran into the rain on our way to this Long Loch but then ran out of it on our way to this shopping centre at Lomond Shores.

  3. Cor! What a lovely story. As you may be aware, I was watching the weather yesterday. Three hours spent staring out of the studio’s window, head turned fully to my right, it’s no wonder I ended up with a sore neck!You’ve done us all proud, showing off your holiday, TG. Pics are great, m’dear:-) Well blogged.

Now have your say!

