Home » The trouble with me » A change of plan.

A change of plan.

As usual seeing as its Tuesday, I was given my orders to go down shopping this morning. So as soon as the boss had left for day care, I grabbed my bag, checked that the bosses shopping list was in there (daren’t forget that!)  grabbed my camera (in case there were any must have photo opportunities occur on my travels) and set off out the door. I said my usual ‘Locking the Door’ as I turned the key in the lock. ( this strategy to help me remember that I HAVE locked the door and save me the embarrassing and annoying return to check from half way down to town.)

Squirrels Delight

First photo opportunity came when I spied that Hamish’s owners had erected two bird houses in their garden with nuts and seed containers dangling enticingly from them. One was placed conveniently right next to the fence. I smiled to myself as I  took the shot. The only creatures getting their mitts on those goodies would be the resident squirrels! And come to think of it, where was Hamish? Usually he was dashing about the garden barking his little head off as soon as your feet hit the path!  Hmm, they must have taken him out I thought.  Sauntering further, I spotted that the fruits were already sprouting on some of the crab apple trees that line this particular area of the estate.

DSC00939

Moving on I spied a bush at the corner absolutely full of buzzing busy bees. I tried to take a shot hoping to capture them when the camera lens suddenly retracted back in and informed me the battery was flat. Damn! Typical! Hadn’t checked it before coming out. Then I suddenly realised that I hadn’t taken my tablets either! Hmm. Fate. Karma. Signs. Omens. Call it what you will, but when one or more instances of this nature occur to this Granny, I tend to arrive at the conclusion that someone somewhere is trying to tell me something. On this occasion, don’t go down shopping this morning! So I turned around, retraced my steps, re-entered the flat, took my tablets, put the camera battery on charge and busied myself with other household tasks.

A street car named desire?

Which brings me to the most annoying thing about this new camera. Unlike my previous Samsungs, you can’t charge the battery simply by connecting it to the mains. You have to remove the battery from the camera.  Nor will it charge via the USB connection on the PC as my previous Samsung’s have done. Bah! There’s always something isn’t there? Nice 4x optical zoom, much better picture quality than my previous camera, but I can’t leave it connected to the PC and let it charge! I decided to risk her wrath and sulky looks and wait until K returned home. We would do the shopping together which we did. Took another two shots  of the bush with the bees buzzing around it but when I’ve looked at the photos you can’t see the bees at all! 

Pork Pies for sale

It did begin to spit with rain as we emerged from Sainsbury’s which is K’s choice of venue for our Tuesday shop. On our return I set to and made us both a Chocolate Temptation dessert, but it ended up looking like a more like a Chocolate Meltation in reality, as by the time we arrived home the ice cream was beginning to soften. Otherwise I would have taken a photo. Maybe next time. Trouble is, they contain so many calories, I won’t dare eat anything else now for the next few days. I’d better run round the estate a few times as well for the next few mornings in order to work it all off.

Muckboots and fishing rods

In order to move swiftly from the subject of calories,chocolate and exercise, I have also decided to create a new photo portfolio consisting of my all time favourite photos. It has meant beginning yet another blog ( to add to the thousands I already seem to own up and down the place) in order to show them all but I like how it has turned out. I have chosen to use  the new theme Modularity Lite simply because it makes even the most obnoxious, dire and crap photo look good, so it suits my style of photography to a tee. I’ve called it Technogransnaps. Click on the Photo Stuff up above if you want to take a look. Still trying out the different styles of showing your photos off that this particular theme and WordPress let’s you do. Let me know what you two readers think won’t you?

TG   Camera 

[tweetmeme only_single=”false”]
20 thoughts on “A change of plan.

  1. I’ve always had a bit of a weakness for dark backgrounds on dedicated photo sites… I think they display the pics much better. Yeah, like the new site. But the WP bods are lying. That b&w pic is still a bit stretched in the slideshow. Maybe the path to the file needs changing or something (if you’d previously used a different size)?

    “I said my usual ‘Locking the Door’ as I turned the key in the lock.”… what a neat idea! I have real problems with remembering whether I’ve done routine things or not. It always used to be “have I unplugged the kettle?”. Which I need to every time I use it cos it has a dicky switch and will turn itself on again if left plugged in. And boil dry. Or blow up or something. So unplugging it became so unthinkingly automatic that, whenever I thought about it (always on just having arrived at the bus stop some five minutes’ walk away) I could never remember whether I’d done so or not. So I’d be faced with either having a day out and constantly fretting, or trekking back homeward again only to find out that, yes, I had unplugged it. Missing the bus in the process of course.

    Current fave though is “have I taken me vitamin pills?” (Vit C and cod liver oil every morning). I’m absolutely convinced there’s been quite a few days when I’ve had a double dose cos I can never remember, only 20 minutes afterwards, whether or not I’ve taken them with my first cuppa of the day.

    Think I’ll have to adopt your strategy!

    And omens! Yes. Absolutely. Great believer in omens, I am.

    • Ahh a fellow sufferer of crap CPU or loss of RAM memory then! Because my tablets are very important, i.e I mustn’t miss taking them NOR must I take them twice, I had the hospital provide me with a Medidose tablet holder, which basically holds your days tablets in separate named compartments so that you can ‘see at a glance’ whether you took your tablets or not.
      It was a must for someone like me (although I still had to conjure up visions of me overdosing on beta blockers to the hospital staff before I was issued with one. NHS and all that.
      Yes, I agree with your analysis regarding the slideshow, I have had a moan and rant to them about it.
      You can place that slideshow above each individual post and that displays as 4.3 or something. Well not widescreen as this theme displays them at any rate.
      I do agree with you, but you know me! Seeing as others seem to prefer to link to yet another blog to show off their photos, I just thought I’d do the same thing! (copygran)

    • Mike in reply to your ‘stretching’ observations on my Photo blog page, you are correct, and after contacting the WordPress bods about it, it does look as if any photos that I upload with Live Writer will be stretched no matter what their size. So, if I want to keep that top Slideshow for my photo collection, I am going to have to upload them first to the WordPress Library, then add them to a post constructed in Writer, then Attach them to that post, then enable them by showing them in the post. Check that street scene now in the slideshow and see if you think its still being stretched.

      Trouble is, its a faff doing all of that! I might have a word with the writer team about it, but they tend to make any photo that you include in your posts very tiny (for uploading reasons so its quicker) and they might not be willing to allow the full size of each photo to be uploaded in a post. It’s either go through all that rigmarole or disable that slideshow feature and just put all my pics in the post. sigh

    • I dunno Tricia! What are you like? (nearly as muddle headed as I am by the looks of things) Simple, take a look up there under my header picture of Loch Lomond, then cast your eyes over the tabs directly below. They read (or should do) Home, Who the Heck Am I?, How to Avoid me, Techy stuff and lastly Photo Stuff. Click on the Photo Stuff.

      You should, all being well, land on another black page with lot’s of my favorite photos on there. If this doesn’t occur, or a page loads up that isn’t black and contains photos, then panic.

  2. I completely agree with you about having remove camera batteries to charge them – which idiot in Marketing thought *that* was a helpful step forward in camera technology? Now I have to carry around a really really awkwardly shaped adaptor thing when I go on holiday, and if I’m at friends and the battery runs out, I’m buggered! Previously I could just connect it up to a handy USB!

    Anyway, rant over – and you’ve captured some lovely colours in those pictures there. 🙂

    • Thank you StuPC. I do like this Sony, its just their stupidity with the battery. I only use the free to download photo editing program Live Photo Gallery to ‘spruce’ my photos up a bit. Can’t afford anything more expensive than free.

  3. Have you tried Picasa? I swear by that for some good basic editing.
    Otherwise there’s a program called GIMP, which is a very very powerful image editor – almost as good as PhotoShop, but completely and utterly free to download and use.

    I recently bought a new Panasonic camera that has a removable battery – after four years with my trusty Konica-Minolta that used 4 AA batteries it just feels very restricting.
    A great camera, mind, but…

    • Stu I have tried Picasa, my only beef with Picasa is that you can only upload it to Picasa web albums and not other sites such as flickr etc. Photo Gallery is far more versatile in that respect, allowing you to upload to your SkyDrive, YouTube, flickr, Facebook etc.
      I also prefer the way that Live Gallery works when you plug a camera in. It allows complete control over which photos to import, naming those photos and adding tags as you import them.

    • Hmm. You really don’t like anything at all from Microsoft do you Mike? I am quite happy with Live Photo Gallery thanks, so why on earth would I change? It does everything I want it to do and more. I love its ability to ‘stitch’ my photos together to make a panoramic photo, the new photo fuse is a fantastic edition, I can also make a collage with it and you have yet to see the very clever use of PhotoSynth which once we get around to another visit to Bradford, I aim to do one of those lovely railway sculptures at Forster Square.

      Its not all dross that emerges from Microsoft! There are some really useful programs and I believe that we should not be blinkered and try them all out for ourselves. The origin and creator of any particular application is not important. Its how that program meets your own particular needs and uses that is the important element.

  4. Heh heh. Its not so much a question of being blinkered. Its much more a case of having used so many Microsoft apps and becoming frustrated with the bloated code, their messy programming, the over-burdening with loads of features half of which I really don’t need, the way they hog system resources and seem to demand ever increasing amounts of RAM, the weekly (and time-consuming) updates and patches, the non-supporting of older operating systems of their own, their attempts to monopolise the apps market, the not totally standards compliant IE, their marketing strategy… er… shall I go on?

    If I weren’t compelled to use Microsucks by force of circumstance I wouldn’t give them house room on any of my machines!

    • We all have to speak as we find. I use all of the Windows Live Essentials suite, the Mail, Photo Gallery, Movie Maker and the excellent Live Writer and wouldn’t be without them. That doesn’t mean though that I shut my eyes to other programs that are available such as Picasa, Thunderbird or Chrome for my browser. If they are superior to those programs or have contain bettrer features, then I would use them.
      We all have to find out and use whatever suits our way of using our computers and our own personal usage.

      TG

  5. Thanks you two ….. you’re debate is really helpful. I use Picasa most of the time, but like tG get frustrated with it because it will not load to other sites (or resize for emails & web pics). I’ve been looking for a nother “free” programme so will look at these others …..

    • Tricia, you CAN upload to other places than Picasa Web Albums but it does mean downloading another app I’m afraid. It s called pixelpipe and its available from here http://pixelpipe.com/tools You have to create yet another account, but then look for the plug in for Picasa. Download it to your computer and then add it to Picasa (contact me if you get stuck) You can then use pixelpipe to upload your pics to other various sites including flickr etc.

Now have your say!

