Home » One of our Jaunts » Another Runaround. (illustrated.)

Another Runaround. (illustrated.)

First leg by busAs my philosophy is ‘don’t waste those gorgeous days of sunshine’ we set off on one of our runarounds yesterday. The sky was cloud free, we were both armed with our trusty cameras and although K had planned to mooch around all day in her pyjamas watching her recordings, she eagerly embraced my idea to venture forth for a days journey via our usual transport, namely the bus and train.. It ended with both of us stuffing ourselves with calorie laden delights. (as usual!)

Bradford Interchange Bus StationDescribes my brain to a T

First venue, Bradford Interchange where I was amused to read the departure board reading Temporarily out of Order. My brain knows that feeling well!

Bradford Town Hall

Walked past Bradford town hall looking resplendent in the gorgeous sunshine. Look at that sky!

DSC01846

Then on past two of my favourite sculptures to Bradford Forster Square station.

DSC01851

Standing waiting for our train on Platform 3 this is the view at the side of the platform.

Arriving at Leeds,

South Concourse Leeds station

Arriving at Leeds City station, we traverse the concourse to buy tickets for the next leg of our journey.

K gets in the Act, oyay! oyay!

Last port of call is Huddersfield where K is greeted by a town crier! It’s a Victorian Christmas Market!

6000 calories and counting!

Wouldn’t be one of our jaunts without ending on stuffing our faces with some kind of indulgence would it? A marshmallow and fudge dipped in chocolate kebab!

Rest of the photos of our runaround are on my sidebar on the right. There were so many calorie laden delights on the stalls that you could easily have entered the Victorian market one stone lighter than you eventually left it.

TG

8 thoughts on “Another Runaround. (illustrated.)

  1. I think me and my sarah will have to accompany you and K on one of your jaunts one day, I am sick of her watching TV all day!

    • Do realise though Jane the terrible danger you will both be in of
      1. Piling tons of weight on
      2. Your head spinning at the end of it all.
      3. It might take you a week or so to recover
      If you are still willing to put yourselves at such a risk, then you are welcome! We do rush about though remember, its in one town or city then onto the next! 😉

  2. ooh…there’s nothing quite like those calorie filled treats, mind you, I always tell myself I’m walking ‘them’ off (some hope) but it soothes my conscience!!!
    thanks for the trip around Bradford, ’twas just like being there,…’n now I’m an armchair (computer chair wise!) tourist. er..any of that choccy kebab left?? 🙂
    xPenx

    • Sorry Pen we were both sharing that one! It was soon devoured and we were both left with a ton of chocolate all around our faces! 😀 Best way to tour around is staying in your armchair, I do it all the time…..

  3. Yummy!! and the view from that platform is unbelievable! If only all stations were as beautiful …. K looks so happy ringing the town criers bell ….. I’m surprised she hasn’t tried to persuade you to buy her that uniform!!!

    • Shh Tricia! Don’t give her ideas for goodness sake! She’s only just got over the Mr Ed singing, I don’t want her going round the flat ringing a bell and shouting out Oyay Oyay!

  4. I just visit for more information about my space,as same time I started reading your post then I found out very similarity in my G-children:-)
    Embraced used the bus and train…
    The photos are very nice and with illustrate too. The sculptures that I like very much.
    We have name of “Victoria market” in Melbourne.
    Iam glad your family used public transport after ALL yummy foods:-)

Now have your say!

