Home » One of those Days » A ‘Themed’ Day.

A ‘Themed’ Day.

I would imagine that everyone gets a ‘themed’ day from time to time. By themed I mean that the day has similar occurrences happening more than once. Friday was a ‘Break’ themed day. So much so that I ended up hoping I didn’t fall over. It began innocently enough.  As Fridays usually begin as a matter of fact. I did the usual and got out of bed. That’s always a good start to the day I find.  Following that, I got showered and dressed. Again, nothing unusual there unless your a cat of course.  We had to go out as K was off to Yoga class.

Setting off along the path, on this occasion with my shoes firmly on my feet, my bag strap broke. Hmm. What is it with me and bags I wonder? I must be the unluckiest person ever where bag life is concerned! Perhaps its my insistence that they fulfil a multi-tasking role. My bags have to be versatile. They have to be able to contain extra shopping items as well as my purse, mobile, (when I remember to take it with me that is) bus passes, camera and my spray for emergencies. They also have to be crossover as my shoulders are so slopey that shoulder bags are next to useless seeing as they spend all of their time slipping down and end up driving me insane.

My broken bag

Tall order for any bag as you can probably imagine, and goes some way to explaining why I have a devil of a job finding a replacement  whenever I need a new one.  It’s always the crossover strap that breaks, indicating that perhaps I am tending to ‘overload’ my bags somewhat either with shopping items that overflow from our main shopping bags, or my purse stuffed with money. (this latter choice  is rather far fetched or only in my imagination I can assure you.)  Luckily we do happen to possess amongst our few remaining shops in our small town, a bag mender, or to correctly title his trade, a Cobbler.

A load of old cobblers!

Without his presence I would probably be buying a new bag (with all of the trawling around bag shops in several different towns and cities that would entail) every few months or so.  It’s really strange how I  can be so fussy and precise about what I require from a bag, yet the rest of my attire, which usually consists of a pair of cheap jeans etc tends to be based on anything goes as long as its warm and comfortable! 

However the breakages didn’t end there. On our return home I found that my reading glasses had broken. One minute they were on the kitchen work top looking fine, then the next time I tried to put them on the screw holding the frame to the sidebar had broken!  These have now been fixed thanks to a quick visit to the opticians yesterday when we went down shopping. They fixed those there and then as we waited.  I also took my broken bag down to be mended as well,  but the bag mender (sorry, cobbler!)  wasn’t open. Good job  I have a spare isn’t it for just such emergencies.

Have you ever had a themed day? A day when the same type of incident has occurred over and over again?

TG

16 thoughts on “A ‘Themed’ Day.

  1. Cobblers!!. 😀 ..( Sorry..!! just wanted to say that..)
    I hope that Cobblers, or Menders, don’t ever go out of business, because they are so handy, and enable us to keep our favourite shoes, bags , leather belts, etc.. instead of throwing them away and having to buy new ones…In this throw away/get the latest society it’d be such a shame to lose the option of mend and re-use…
    and I sometimes have ‘hide and seek’ days, when I swear there’s a gremlin about, moving just the things I’m looking for, to someplace I’d never ever leave them!! Hmmmf!!….xPenx
    Wishing you a theme free day….xx

    • I know Penny! that’s my exact words to the cobbler this morning as I handed over my bag to be mended! I readily told him that he saved me not only lot’s of pennies but also lot’s of traipsing about West Yorkshire looking for huge cross over bags as replacements! (mind you, perhaps I should have waited until he presents me with how much it will cost before admitting all of that.. Ooops!)

  2. My themed days begin around the week the clocks go back, and I want to have a little snooze in the afternoon. Just to re-charge the batteries of course, oh dear I feel a themed yawn coming on.
    And talking about mending, my electric kettle decided to give up the ghost to-day, and I think I have no choice but to buy a new one, grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    • Did anything else break Arlene besides the kettle? If so, you had a day like mine. I’ll be hopefully collecting my broken bag today from the cobblers. Thanks for the comment.

      • Would you believe, my kettle wasn’t broken after all, I went to Tesco and picked up a cheapo one, got home, and was on the point of throwing out my old one, and had a thought, maybe it’s just the fuse, and blow me down, I changed the fuse and it works! so back to Tesco with the cheapo kettle, Sod’s law the old one will pacl up next week. LOL.

  3. My themed day revolved around teaching Laura how to prepare a few dishes while starting some of the cooking for the Thanksgiving feast tomorrow. My doctor’s orders to lose 10 lbs have been superseded by the necessity to taste EVERYTHING!

    • Oh dear Roket Man! worse thing you can do is have a tasting day! Those pounds will be going in the wrong direction. Happy thanksgiving to all of my american blogging friends!

  4. I had a themed day last week first up I smashed my favourite mug, went for a coffee and then the loo to which I dropped my shopping bag down the loo. It just slipped off the shelf honest. That looks like a nice bag TG well worth mending hope you get it mended. I’m sure we carry far too much in our handbags
    Great blog I love the photo’s opposite don’t the shop windows look lovely and tempting this time of year.
    Sheilax

    • I carry far too much. Mind you, you have little choice in the matter when shopping with K because you simply never have enough shopping bags with you for all the items you end up with. I do try to stick to fairly light items ending up in my bag from the constant overflow.
      I confess though to never dropping mine down the loo. I have that mishap still to come. Mind you, I think its too big to fit down.

  5. I just love handbags and cannot resist buying them (usually from the charity shops) only problem is that when I want to go somewhere and have to change handbags. I usually manage to leave something in the old bag ! Have a great weekend x

  6. I might start to look more in Charity Shops marjie not only for bags but also for fur coats. I am currently wanting one but those to buy new are so expensive. I don’t mean real fur but even the fake is expensive so my niece has told me to scour the charity shops for one.

  7. Charity shops are a goldmine if you go in often and really look through the goods.
    I helped out at our local Dog charity shop for about a year, and was amazed at some of the things that get donated, not all used and worn, often some brand new , I had to stop taking my purse as I bought something everytime I went. I’ve now got too many vases, any offers?

  8. I think that my theme day would be ‘bumps and bruises’, a a little accident prone is an under statement. All I have to do is move a muscle and people around me get nervous and start looking for the nearest first aid stations/kit. Yes, it’s unfortunate, that I am a danger to myself considering my profession has me rescuing people! Bwahahaha. Then again, my very own training has saved my limbs and life a few hundred times.

Now have your say!

