Home » Blogging » Illustrating ‘Me’

Illustrating ‘Me’

If any of my readers happened to be loitering around my blog during this last week or so, they might have been annoyed to see countless changes taking place right before their eyes. I’ve been vainly trying to find a new header and background for both of my ‘diary’ blogs over here and on Blogger. It hasn’t really been successful because I have arrived at the conclusion that I have set myself an impossible task. To try and find a header or background that illustrated me as a person and what I am all about, not easy when I am not sure who I am myself! I’m still not fully happy with the current choice. It does reflect one of my great passions of course, steam trains, and the very mysterious dark figure loitering at the kiosk hints at my love of mysteries.

My long term readers know that whenever we venture out for the day, I tend to refer to it as a quest or an Adventure, reflecting both my love of role playing games and my ever vivid imagination. It’s never just a shopping trip or a day out somewhere for either of us, and K being the born actress that she is, joins in with great gusto. To give one example of my unfruitful hours spent trying to find the perfect illustration of me, my love of murder mysteries sent me on an unfruitful search on both Bing and Google where I typed in ‘murder mysteries’ hoping to spy some wonderful picture depicting exactly that, but all to no avail.

I’m not really a flowery, pink, feminine type of female, and so the countless wallpapers depicting flowery backgrounds in gorgeous soft pinks were not really me at all. Abstracts. Yes, I am most certainly that most of the time. Fantasy. Again, I do love fantasy, and I spend quite a few hours trawling through lot’s of fantasy wallpapers and backgrounds. None really said ‘me’ though. Trouble is, it can become quite addictive in a strange sort of way. Every time I found one that I liked and downloaded it with the intention of bringing my search for a background to an end, I found myself still continuing in case there was something far closer to the real ‘me’ just further down the page.

There were lot’s and lot’s of green themed backgrounds to be found, but since being forced to wear bottle green berets, blazer, raincoat, pinafore dress and skirt and apple green dress in the summer months during my Grammar School years as a very shy and retiring teen, I was scarred for life and ended up with a lasting   aversion to it. Rather like nature all around us, the  trees and the grass, its very hard to avoid using it as a header or background, but it’s not really me.

Were my blogs all about recipes or cooking, I could have easily found tablecloth type backgrounds and headers consisting of plateful after plateful of delicious looking food. That would have been no problem at all. I did try a search for ‘dippy’ and  ‘geeky’ but to no avail. Colours? Well I do prefer the warm colours, the oranges, reds, and yellow shades, and I do like the shade that I settled for as the background for my Blogger blog. It’s a sort of faint mauve rather similar to an accidentally acquired  bruise when its fading away. I was trying desperately to match the few azalea’s contained in the header but failed miserably. However, it’s a nice shade. The header is not really me though because although I do love flowers, they are far removed from describing  ‘me’ and who I am.

Have any of you ever tried to find a header or a background for your blog that goes someway to illustrate who you are and were you successful?

TG

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

15 thoughts on “Illustrating ‘Me’

  1. I think I’ve managed it TG, I’m not one for flowers either, maybe right for some but not for me…I’m all for dark, deep and mysterious…something that grips and sends you reeling behind the settee to hide your eyes… um, no that would be too much, ignore that ….but you know what I mean, imagination is a wonderful thing and I like to give it free reign…Not all the time or I’d be quite insane. Now wouldn’t I?
    It took me quite a while to find my theme, and change this ‘n’ that…background, header …that if I twiddled it all now I’d drive myself quite batty…
    The country road one was lovely, leading to further adventures round the bend..(see the theme emerging? round the bend? Batty? Insane? gulp!!)… describing me to a ‘t’
    may you find your perfect theme, TG…and may the search be enjoyable…as it should be… xPenx

    • Yes, I do understand. Around the bend would perfectly sum me up as well, and I like dark and mysterious things. I will just have to continue searching so don’t think you are seeing things if it all changes!

  2. Haven’t really spent much time on that aspect, to be honest. I guess I felt that what best “illustrates me” are the things I write about…the things that intrigue me.

  3. I was very lucky to have one of my sons design mine …… a third person’s view is very useful ……. although obviously I’ve written him out of my will now ……

    To sum up a person in a header is almost impossible of course ………

  4. $#@%##!!!! TG!!!

    You got me to thinking about this and I have spent the last several HOURS fiddling with mine!!!

    The image I finally ended up using for my “header” is actually a picture of the gate outside the “Ennis-Brown House” (designed by Frank Lloyd Wright).

    Built in 1924 the house has appeared in more movies and television shows than one can take time to list here, including Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Blade Runner, but, perhaps most famously, it is the house Vincent Price invites his guests to in the original (1959) version of THE HOUSE ON HAUNTED HILL.
    Which made it just perfect as a header for my blog, don’tcha think?
    The house is now up for sale if anyone has that kind of moolah. It is in the Los Feliz neighborhood of Los Angeles and you can view more on it here: http://www.ennishouse.org/ if you happen to be house hunting.
    Or house HAUNTING, for that matter 🙂

  5. Hello TG
    Know how you feel I have been trying to change mine around a bit too,some I like the layouts of and some I like the picture, but so far have not managed to get what I want. Never mind it is fun trying ! Take care Marjie x

  6. Wow Cass, its fabulous and just you! I did go on a search for a mysterious door or gate of some sort, you know the sort I mean, where as you pass, you wonder just what lies beyond it? An old rustic knocker adorns it. I searched but didn’t find what I was looking for unfortunately.

  7. Hmm, I like changing my header and background, I don’t think I’ve ever found anything that depicts ‘me’ maybe I’m a many faceted person, i just trawl through photobucket and pick something that catches my eye and fits the mood I’m in or the weather, I haven’t done much painting for a while, maybe it’s my substitute.

Now have your say!

