Home » The trouble with me » Round the Bend

Round the Bend

This blog will now remain stable. There will be no more changes to confuse my two readers, it will now remain as you see it today. No more endlessly typing in a search bar with such mundane terms such as ‘dippy’ ‘geeky’ ‘mysterious’ I have found myself at last! The header above depicts many things about me and my life. The road stretched out in front encouraging you to continue on just to see what lies around the corner, the trees at either side, casting such wonderful patterns over the road and displaying a mired of colours. It’s all there.

Where does the road lead? What lies beyond the bend? Life is a road we all travel along, with many crossroads where decisions have to be made as we go. Which way, left or right, straight on or turn around and go back? But we cannot turn around. We cannot go back. Did we take the right road back there when we decided to go left? Should we have gone right instead? Where will the road take us? Will it ever end? Or will we be forever journeying along it, never reaching our destination?

Life is a road that we all must journey along. The turnings we make as we travel that road may be right, they may be wrong. During my journey along life’s road, I have made many wrong turnings. Turned right when I should have turned left. Gone straight ahead when I should have turned right. But the road I now travel is the one I must take, for I cannot turn back. I wonder what lies round the bend?

TG

24 thoughts on “Round the Bend

  1. Just the way I like it…TG, the not knowing…how flipping exciting is that?… I love bends in the road…and I’m sure I have made many a wrong turn…but maybe there’s a trunk road that runs across and ‘catches’ the wayward waifs and strays such as us?.. I do hope so.!! 🙂 Um..did I say I loved the picture?.. I most certainly do !! xPenx

  2. I agree, with Pen on the picture, I always had a bit of an exploring streak in me, always wanting to see what was over the hill or round the corner.
    I often think of what my life would have been like had I taken different turns, some I’ve regretted, then think well maybe it would have been worse, one never knows, and as you say , we can’t change it, once a decision to go down a road is taken, that’s it.lovely post TG

    • That’s why I will stay with this header Arlene. It sums up my adventurous (and inquisitive) nature, the walks we love to go on, my love for trees, woods and forests and also depicts life.

  3. Hey, TG! Did you ever come across something from when you were very young? Something you hadn’t thought about for YEARS but the minute you start seeing/hearing it it all comes back with just a “frisson” of the “spooky feeling” it used to give you as a child?
    Well, it happened to me just now when I watched this intro from the 1956 Hardy Boys Adventure “The Mystery of the Applegate Treasure”. I know it was shown all over the world at one time or another so maybe it’ll hold memories for some here as well.

      • Well, it depends on where you were but generally Walt Disney’s original Mickey Mouse Club ran from 1955-1958 and THIS version of “The Hardy Boys” ran as a 15 minute serial (in installments) inside that program and helped to make a star of young Tim Considine who also appeared in the “Spin and Marty” serials and went on to be on the situation comedy MY THREE SONS with Fred MacMurray.
        Anyway…this intro from the first Hardy Boys serial used to scare the Heck out of me back then (I was six years old 🙂

  4. Hey, just stopping by to give you a ‘shout out’ and say hello. Tomorrow is Wednesday, we’re half way thru the week. The weekend couldn’t come soon enough! Weekends don’t pay as well as weekdays but at least they are more fun!

  5. You are totally right about saying “there are many roads a person can travel”. It is totally up to every single individual to make the choice. And those choices never cease. Choosing the road(s) is not always easy (knowing what to do, how to to it, when to do it, etc.) and it can be hard to stay on course…. it depends on where he/she is heading in life, how fast he/she wants to get there and what he/she wants to pass on the way. So many roads. So many detours. So many choices. So many mistakes… a beginning that leads to the end, and what an adventure inbetween!!!!

  6. What a great header …. it’s lovely, and sooo tempting to just walk into … imagine what’s around the corner …. and listen to the birds calling …. it puts winter chills behind and leads who knows where ….
    Did I mention that I like it??

  7. Very thought provoking post TG.
    Made me think of this quote:
    “Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.” (Greg Anderson, American Author)

  8. Thought that I would stroll on over here to your little hang out and see how you have been doing. I like to read and was hoping that you would have blessed us with an update… plus I am nosey too. 🙂 Hope all is well with you and yours.

  9. ☆☆ HELLO there Beautiful! It’s only me. Hope all is well with you. Just coming by to say ‘Try and have a most excellent day.’ ☆☆

  10. Maybe we don’t always know exactly what may be around the bend even on a road less traveled or gravelled, what matters is to me is knowing where I want to be going otherwise any road would do! Wonderful header the site is lookin’ good, you’re inspiration to many – also I enjoy your sense of humor(“-“)

Now have your say!

