Home » The trouble with me » Hair today and gone tomorrow

Hair today and gone tomorrow

Owing to the type of chemo I am receiving, I was warned at the beginning that I would loose all of my hair, in fact my consultant expressed surprise during my recent appointment with her, that I still had some left on my head as apparently you usually loose it all following the second session. I shall not be tempted to demonstrate my nearly bald pate with a photo on my blog, I am sure you’ll all understand why, so instead you’ll all have to make do with a cartoon impression of my current appearance.

confused

TG

19 thoughts on “Hair today and gone tomorrow

  1. Not an easy side effect to bear, TG. Chin up, not long to go now. I hope the legs are giving you less trouble now and you are not suffering from too much nausea.

    • Haven’t had any nausea Pen, they give you anti-sickness tablets to take straight after your chemo, and (touch wood) these have worked. You have to take them though even though you don’t feel sick. Leg’s are now back to their thin selves thank goodness! The first week after is definitely the worst, as you get lot’s of rheumatic pains, and mine are around my ankles. Trouble is I daren’t take any Iboprofen tablets with my rubbish easily inflamed digestive system, so I’m having to rely on Iboprofen cream rubbed on the affected areas.

  2. I hope, and I’m sure, it will all be worth it in the end, I think your attitude is inspiring, and should I ever be unfortunate enough to find myself in similar circumstances, that I could be as brave, Hats off to you.
    Arlene

    • Fight it! Don’t give in to it! Is my motto, and try to keep your sense of humour if you can…. I am trying to keep as active as possible Arlene, though that is hard during the first week following chemo.

  3. I do not know are expierenced chemo. I do curl my hiar, what i have of it, bald you know. when I curl i lose hair. have a lot of curling to do to match your picture.

  4. Humor is a good attitude here…. Hope you won’t be too tired with all the medications, but I am sure you will are on your way to concurring this time of your life. Strong lady….
    Blessings
    Raven 🙂

    • Thanks Raven. I don’t know about being strong, I’ve never considered myself as such, I’m determined and yes, stubborn as well I suppose. I believe that trying to stay as normal as possible and not give in to it suits me better though it does affect everyone differently, as my hair still remaining on my head (well, some of it!) at this stage proves.

  5. Good on you, Sandra. My first thought was `flattering ways with scarves’, but with my cushy cancer it didn’t happen. It’ll be very interesting to see how your hair grows back.
    Bunny x

  6. Chin up TG, and may your hair soon make a full all over comeback. You have faced everything with such good humour and strength of will, that it’s a pleasure to read your blogs. Hugs to you, and to ‘K’ who I am sure has been worried throughout. xPenx

    • Thanks Pen. I am not quite sure to be honest with you if she quite understands it all, but she is such a joker and keeps telling me to ‘Keep your hair on Mum!’ LOL

  7. Hi, thank you for your comment on my blog. Sorry to here about your problems with canser.

    As to your comment, you can get the same effects from Gimp, and gimp is free. Give it a try.

  8. *´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤ The truth is that thousands of people lose their hair to chemotherapy every single day. Today, someone will wake up to find hair on their pillow or have clumps hovering the drain in the shower. While there is nothing we can do to prevent this from happening, there is something we can do: give support. So know you have my support. And… thank goodness that there is so much more to you than your hair. There is!

Now have your say!

