Home » Shopping » Off on another spending spree!

Off on another spending spree!

Dragged out today on some lame brained pretext that I needed (or the world might end) a new pair of grey trousers from Marks and Spencer’s by my ‘money no object’ daughter, but at least it gives me something to write about. I haven’t been feeling too well following this last chemo session, it has taken me far longer to ‘come round’ and so blogging took a back seat in the list of things to occupy my time. Sorry about that. Anyway, onto the shopping trip. As many will be aware from previous posts, although we are all led to believe that the shopping trip is entirely for my benefit, its strange how it always ends with  K arriving home with more purchases than I.

We caught the 09.35am bus at our local stop and armed with a list written by K which included a new bath sponge (for me) long grey pants (for me) grey jumper (? not sure who this was for) and a new raincoat (for K to replace hers because the zip had gone) we enjoyed an uneventful journey to Halifax.

Usually I can never find a thing I want in Halifax, but for once it all went smoothly. First of all, we bought K’s new raincoat. One item ticked off the list. Then we made our way up to one of the bag shops in the indoor market to look for my replacement purse. Here I expected a big stumbling block. I’m very particular about my purses. They have to be a certain size and type and as I can never remember where I purchased the last one, I always have a lot of difficulty replacing them. The first bag shop had one nearly the same, but we continued onto the other bag shop to take a look there. BINGO! The exact same purse!

SAM_1917

We were on a roll, I could feel it in my bones! Two purchases already and it wasn’t even 10.30am! A quick call into Wilkinson’s for a new bath sponge and then onward to Mark’s and Spencer’s to look for the grey trousers replacement for me. It took quite some searching in M&S to find the exact same grey trousers and in between my searches, my daughter had armed herself with a beige coloured t-shirt and a matching grey jogging suit top and trousers.

31SpzL4k51L._SX85_SH35_

Spying a dummy stood in a fetching blue jogging top over a black t-shirt and black jogging trousers, I decided to throw caution to the winds and buy the exact same outfit for myself. BIG MISTAKE! K took one look at my choice and decided that she wanted the same thing instead of the grey jogging ensemble. By this time she was already stood in the queue waiting to pay for our purchases, so I had to hastily make my way back to the trousers to search for her a pair. They did not have her size. Size 20 short leg must not often be requested in this vicinity by other shoppers. 

On asking the assistant who served us at the checkout whether or not size 20 short length was in stock, she informed me that we could order it at the order counter which was sited just as you entered the food hall. I had not realised that you could order something in this way and although it took some time to fill in some details seeing as I was a new ordering customer, we did manage to order her a pair and I have to collect them on Tuesday. So all in all, not a bad days shopping!

I hope this trip has appeased my daughter for a while, as I am still vainly trying to save up for that trip to Cornwall that I have longed to make next year. Will I ever make it there? Only time will tell, and of course reading this blog!

TG

12 thoughts on “Off on another spending spree!

    • Luckily she won’t be with me! It’s the day for swimming with day care, and as she enjoys that, she has decided not to take the day off to accompany me so I shall be on my todd as we say round here.

  1. Not surprised that blogging is the last thing on your mind, TG, what with your chemo and recovery time needed afterwards. I’d take my hat off to you if I was wearing one, but enough to say what you’re going through makes me feel humble and ashamed of grumbling about any aches and pains I might have. {{{hugs}}} to you. and great that you found your shopping list items, other than ‘K’s change of mind. Not a bad day out at all , all told. I know how you feel about savings, I seem to get a bit put aside and something turns up to eat into it. (this time my roof needs fixing, hopefully before any more heavy rain, and Winter!!) … ah well, ’tis only money!! 😉 xPenx

    • Thanks Pen. Only one more session to endure thank goodness! This last one really took its toll, but I didn’t do my usual fighting it, so maybe that has something to do with it. Anyway, if K is in a spending mood, how you feel is of little importance in her grand scheme of things. She plans it all out and that’s the end of it. I’m afraid I just have to go along with it all.

  2. ♫ *´”)
    ,¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨) ♫ ♪
    (¸.•´ (¸.• ♫ ♪ I am sorry to hear that you have not been feeling up to par since your last chemo session. I hope that you are feeling better today than yesterday and that tomorrow… you will feel even better.
    Most of us modern men, for example, generally want to get into a store and get right back out… just like their hunting forefathers wanted to find and bring meat home as quickly as possible. On the other hand, women get back to their foraging roots by sorting through racks of shirts, sweaters, pants and racks of purses, shows and belts, etc on sale… as if scanning plants for signs of ripeness. Bwahahaha! None the less, the shopping trip sounds like you two had a good day. I hope you have many more good days ahead too!

    • I have to disagree with you there Seth. I like to get in a shop, find what I’m looking for and back out again as quickly as possible! In fact, in my immediate family, my youngest son is the one who sifts through every item of clothing taking hours and hours over buying just one article. He’s a nightmare to shop with!

      • ♫ *´”)
        , ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨) ♫ ♪
        (¸.•´ (¸.• ♫ ♪ I’d go shopping with you any day. But you might not like the toy aisle. :o(

Now have your say!

