Home » The trouble with me » The best laid plans.

The best laid plans.

WP_000456WP_000455

We had one of those days on Saturday. A day where none of my plans came to fruition and it was all my own fault.. The initial plan was to walk down to our local train station, catch a train to Leeds, buy my train tickets for my forthcoming trip up to Scotland to visit my eldest son and his family, then another train to Huddersfield and from there the last leg home. That was the plan.  We did arrive at our local train station where unfortunately I began to suffer from griping stomach pains, no doubt caused by eating lot’s of soft liquorice the day before.

WP_000457

Panic set in, and we ended up dashing down the road to Sainsbury’s for a toilet instead of clambering aboard the Leeds train.  At this point, we did discuss abandoning the whole trip and going back home, but eventually deciding that the risk was worth it we caught the bus to Huddersfield, thereby completely cutting out Leeds altogether.  It was a beautiful day, with a cloudless sky and far too good to waste, even if I was in some discomfort and having to keep my shop browsing to shops which I knew contained a loo. How embarrassing I thought and completely self inflicted as well! What idiot eats a ton of soft liquorice when they are planning to venture out on a run-around the following day? You all know the answer to that one!

Needless to say, I did make it home without having any mishaps or embarrassments and can assure my readers that I won’t be so foolish ever again.  So remember everyone, if your planning a day out the following day, keep off the liquorice!

TG

3 thoughts on “The best laid plans.

  1. Oh dear Sandra, I do so know the feeling. I still take Diocalm if I am going to be immobilsed in, the dentist’s say, it’s just the feeling of being stuck. And that’s without the liquorice!

    • I know Bunny! I’ve been through it all before with my irritable bowel syndrome and have no excuse, I should know better! It ended up ruining the day really. Sigh. But I do love my liquorice!

  2. I think we’ve all been there Sandra, it’s not so bad when out in the country where there’s usually a handy tree. You won’t do that again though, will you?

Now have your say!

